Book Meme 2/30: A book that you’ve read more than 3 times

9 Dec

Mark: I’ve a particular addiction for locally “flavored” works. Amongst the novels that I have read, Adrian Tan’s Teenage Textbook tops it all up for me. Like that durian puree on my Ice Kachang, or the hum in my Char Kuey Teow, Teenage Texbook for me, accompanied my primary school years as it brought me laughter, and tears. Although this novel may be somewhat obscured, it was pretty popular back then. Apart from Constable Acai of course:

Adrian Lim was an undergraduate in NUS, studying as a lawyer who decided that he should write a novel then. His novel “The Teenage Textbook” was published in 1988. It’s later sequel was “The Teenage Workbook” and was published in 1989. Both books sold about 50,000 copies, and in 1998, it was made into a movie starring Melody Chen and Caleb Goh (that happened to top the box office for 4 weeks).

This novel follows the life of a female student, Mui Ee, while studying in a fictitious junior college in Singapore. The novel is called a textbook as Mui Ee chanced upon a textbook that teaches her how to be a teenager. The novel takes on the form of a first person narrative, and juxtaposed with pages extracted from the “textbook” Mui Ee found. Adrian meant to publish as humour, but happened to spark off a new kind of literature for Singapore.

If it so happens that you’re interested in this really simple book, or wish to delight yourself visually with Melody Chen and Caleb Goh for an hour and a half, here is the link to the full movie:

2 Responses to “Book Meme 2/30: A book that you’ve read more than 3 times”

  1. rainmakerteo December 9, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Damn it! I wanna go back to teenage time and do things that I missed out.

    • Mark. December 12, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

      Haha, I wish I could go back to my Secondary too. Just so I can do one arm push ups, one inch punches, and shoulder “attack” someone.

Leave a Reply

